top of page
Search

Landscape Photographer of the Year 2018

Since the birth of our son in January this year I’ve been preoccupied with other ‘things’ and my motivation and inspiration has tailed off somewhat. Hopefully it’l be back soon, in the meantime I’m extremely please to announce that I have 2 images commended in the Landscape Photographer of the Year competition this year. One of them isn't even a drone shot! ‘Simplified’ was taken at Skipwith Common in North Yorkshire as several others which were commended in previous years. ‘Sightseeing’ was taken at Tower Bridge. This shot was taken with my SLR not my drone, contrary to what people assume and often berate me for using a drone in the middle of London!!

The exhibition is at Waterloo Station and will run from Monday 19 November 2018 until Sunday 3 February 2019. My ‘Simplified’ shot will be on the printed boards and Tower Bridge shot on the digital display.


Canon EOS M with a EF-M18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens. 35mm, 1/500th sec at f/5.0 ISO 400

After a few of years of mild winters, I was determined to photograph a snowy landscape from above and had to make the most of the brief snowfall we had last winter. Taken at Skipwith Common, I tried to find some geometric shapes and patterns in the landscape but spotted this group of birch trees. Ordinarily the bare trees would have blended into the undergrowth, but the snow covered ground added the necessary contrast to accentuate the trunks and branches.

Inspire 1 Pro Drone with Olympus M.ZUIKO DIGITAL ED 12mm f/2.0 Lens. 12mm, 1/160th sec at f/5.6 ISO 100


Canon EOS M with a EF-M18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS STM lens. 35mm, 1/500th sec at f/5.0 ISO 400

Despite not having the drone with me on our weekend trip to London, I wasn't going to be prevented from getting some 'top-down' aerial abstract shots. Taken from the glass walkway at Tower Bridge, I set up the composition and waited for a open top tourist bus to pass beneath. Several went past which were sparsely occupied but as the one in this image appeared, a speed boat also shot into the frame!


24 views0 comments
bottom of page